Virginia City Has a Law About Trick or Treating!

You could be fined if you don't follow the law.

October 10, 2018

Dreamstime

The city of Chesapeake, Virginia, is trying to get a handle on trick or treating. They are getting a lot of attention for a city ordinance that states if anyone over 12 years of age participates in "trick or treat" or any similar activity, "he or she shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished by a fine of not less than $25.00 nor more than $100.00 or by confinement in jail for not more than six months or both."  

 The city's website says, that a 13-year-old "safely trick or treating with a younger sibling is not going to have any issues."  They just want everybody to have a safe Halloween. 

The city is also strict on the time. City code states any person trick or treating after 8 p.m. will be guilty of a misdemeanor and punished by up to a $100.00 fine or jail time of up to 30 days, or both

They also stated they are not "actively seeking out violations. There are other cities that have strict limits on Halloween - Newport News and Norfolk.